Updates, Second Anniversary of Accident and Thanksgiving Break

Hi everyone,

I’m very sorry I haven’t posted for over a month. School has kept me very busy this semester. Like I tell everyone I’m only taking 12 hours, but since I have a lot of reading and writing for all of my classes I’m busy most of the time. Usually I have at least one or two essays due each week, plus a lot of reading and other small assignments. It seems like when I think I don’t have anything to do something always comes up! Here’s a list of everything I have to do by the end of the semester: a 12-15 page research paper, a 4-7 page paper, a 1000 word essay and a 2500 word essay. I’ll also have a final exam that’ll be 50 multiple choice questions and two essays!

I’ve also been involved in a lot of disability awareness presentations across campus and other things including socializing with my friends! Everything’s fine though. In fact this has been one of my best semesters so far!

I got home for Thanksgiving break yesterday. My parents picked me up yesterday morning. Then we spent most of the day outside with my mom. We went to the mall and other stores.

Today is the second anniversary of the accident and Chris’s death. As you might imagine this time of year brings back many memories. Our grief is still the same, but we’re slowly learning to cope with it. To most people we probably don’t appear nearly as sad as we used to, but the sadness is still there regardless of how much time has passed.

My parents went to Mexico a few weeks ago; they were there for a week. Chris’s ashes are in Mexico, so that’s one of the reasons they went. They went to celebrate “el dia de los muertos,” a tradition that’s celebrated throughout Mexico and in other Latin American countries; the English translation is the day of the dead. During that day families have altars in their homes with the favorite foods and drinks of their deceased relatives. The belief is that the souls of the dead come to earth during that day. Families also go to the cemetery (or in my brother’s case, the church where his ashes are) and spend the entire day there. It sounds like a sad celebration, but it’s actually the opposite. It’s a way for us to remember the life of our deceased relatives in a happy way.

I can tell that this trip to Mexico really helped my parents a lot. We had a long talk with my mom today, and she told me that while she is still sad to remember everything that happened two years ago, she has found a lot of emotional strength after she went to Mexico.

The three of us are having a great time catching up on our lives! Unfortunately I’ll only be home for a week, but I have a feeling it’ll go by very fast! 😦 I only have three more weeks of classes after Thanksgiving break, and then the semester is over. So it sounds like I’ll be very busy the next few weeks!

Well, take care! I will try hard to blog more often, but if I don’t get a chance to blog in the next couple of days, have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Updates, Second Anniversary of Accident and Thanksgiving Break”

  1. bethfinke Says:

    Sandra, thanks for the update. I think about you all the tie, and especially at this time of year. I have always thought the Dia de los muertos tradition is an excellent one and was fortunate enough to participate in a Day of the Dead ritual a few years back. Glad to hear your parents found comfort in their trip to Mexico — enjoy your time with them this week.

    • Sandra Says:

      Yeah it’s probably the hardest thing we’ve had to go through, but I’m also glad my parents found comfort in their trip to Mexico. I can definitely see a huge difference in my mom’s emotional state. My tia Peggy recently came over to visit with them, and she told me the same thing. Of course she’s coming to visit me too! 🙂 Yes, el dia de los muertos is a wonderful tradition. Most of the time when I tell my friends about it they seem to think it’s a very sad tradition, but that’s just not the case! I definitely plan to enjoy my week off, but it’ll be gone before we know it!

Leave a Reply

