Frustrated — Please Help!

Hello my loyal blog readers,

My ESL job was an activity I was really enjoying. I was very excited to do this for my volunteer project because I thought it would teach me more about the struggles people from other countries have when trying to learn English.

As you remember, my first week went well. I was able to help out one of the two ESL instructors I worked with. I was unable to help out the other instructor because she wasn’t prepared with activities for me to do – I understand she was notified at last minute about me coming in to her class. Last week I did help her out with a small activity. I gave students paper money, and they had to give me change for that bill in coins (i.e. change for a dollar.)

Today when I arrived at my Social Work 412 class, Dr. Piedra, the instructor told me we had to talk. “I talked to David, and he is concerned you are not getting what you need out of your volunteer work,” she said. I was shocked. David is the coordinator of the ESL program. Why hadn’t he contacted me directly to address this concern?

Dr. Piedra and I had a conversation after class. “I’m not trying to attack them, [the people at the school] but I think they are just being very hesitant about asking me how best to adapt the class activities,” I told her.

I always told the ESL instructor to let me know what activities she had planned for class. “That way I can make the necessary adaptations,” I cheerfully told her. Last Tuesday I emailed her to ask her what she had planned for that Thursday’s class, and I never heard back from her.

When I got to her class on Thursday I realized the activity she was doing with the students was completely adaptable. She would show the class pictures, and then ask them a question about the picture. The students then had to give her an answer in complete sentences; they also had to write the questions and answers. Example: (question from teacher) “Where is the giraffe?” (Answer from students) “The giraffe is in the zoo.” Afterword’s she had the students work in groups and practice asking and answering the questions amongst themselves. She also went around the classroom to quiz them on the pronunciation.

I could have easily written these sentences using my PacMate, a special Braille computer. Then I could have quizzed the students myself. Unfortunately since she hadn’t explained this activity to me beforehand I was unable to take note of the material.

Again, I’m not trying to attack the teacher in anyway; she is very nice and friendly. Unfortunately, however, she didn’t take the time to ask me how to adapt the activities. She automatically assumed that since the activities were visual there was absolutely no way for a blind person to do them.

“People are not always willing to adapt or be creative,” Dr. Piedra said with a tone of sympathy in her voice. “I totally understand that,” I told her. “It’s just that if they had been willing to work with me this volunteer experience would’ve worked out for all of us,” I continued. “You know, I feel bad for them, because you would’ve been a great help if they had been willing to work with you and be creative,” she said. “Did you know they had this concern,?” she asked. “No! That’s why I was shocked when you told me at the beginning of class,” I told her. “Oh!” She said in disbelief.

Dr. Piedra suggested for me to look at some of the other options for completing the community service project. Luckily I have about six or seven options to choose from. She thinks that since I only have 16 more hours to complete it’s not worth it for me to try to convince them to help me adapt the ESL activities.

I know one of my readers who is totally blind taught ESL classes – surely you know who you are! My question to all of my readers is: should I try to somehow convince the teacher and coordinator about how to adapt the ESL activities, or should I just try one of the other community service options? Please comment on this post or email me with your thoughts/suggestions! You can email me at: sandramurillo_580@yahoo.com

Thanks!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Frustrated — Please Help!”

  1. Peggy Madera Says:

    Sandra,
    Unfortunately, you have experienced true discrimination in this situation. My gut feeling is the teacher is unrealistic about what a person with a visual impairment can do. Even sadder, however, is that it could be pure laziness which has caused this teacher to hesitate to work with you.

    Occasionally we have worked with mainstream teachers who are overwhelmed with having a student in their class with a visual impairment. Sometimes they even refuse to do so, even though it is illegal. In my experience, it is usually the unorganized teachers who struggle the most. Having a student with a visual impairment means being organized and planning ahead. Sounds like this was an issue with the ESL teachers with whom you were working. Not speaking with you directly about their issues is not very professional or polite.

    Perhaps it isn’t worth it to push the issue and convince them to let you volunteer there. But you may teach them something by at least having a conversation with them, and explaining how easily you could adapt things for yourself. Good luck. Sometimes it is difficult to be an advocate for yourself or all people with visual impairments. But it sounds to me like the ESL teachers have much to learn, and could use a little encouragement to view the capabilities of others in a more positive way. Makes me worry what message they give to people who haven’t mastered English yet.

    • Sandra Says:

      Hi Tia Peggy,

      Great to hear from you! You are exactly right — I am frustrated the teacher wasn’t willing to work with me, but I’m even more frustrated that they didn’t discuss the matter with me personally. The reason I wasn’t sure about going with this issue further is because I really don’t have the time to try and convince these people. I’ve already got more than enough in my hands with my class work and magazine writing job (although I am really enjoying everything I have to do this semester.) On the other hand, however, I do realize I experienced true discrimination and that technically I could use other means to settle this situation, but like Dr. Piedra told me, I only have 16 hours left to complete my volunteer project. Besides, this project is meant for students to gain knowledge about the Latino community in a positive way. I’m afraid that if I did fight with these people it would ruin my volunteer experience.

      My mom suggested the same thing — to “try” and educate them. She suggested me to write them a thank you note for giving me the opportunity to work with them. I could then politely write something about what people with disabilities are capable of if they have the right opportunities. But then again maybe having an actual conversation might work better.

      Yesterday Dr. Piedra forwoarded an email she received from those people. Apparently they “suggested” some places for me to work in. Guess what? They refered me to places/institutions that work with people with disabilities! As I told Dr. Piedra, “I had a “gut” feeling they were going to suggest for me to work w/ people with disabilities!” I explained to Dr. Piedra that although I respect the disability field it’s just not my thing. When she replied to my message she told me she was actually embarrased that these people suggested those places.

      Of course I didn’t go with what they suggested! I’m going with one of Dr. Piedra’s suggestions, which is to be a mentor for Latino students at a middle school in Urbana. She’s been very kind and has helped me contact the people at the school so I can begin working with them ASAP. I’ll blog more about the final arrangements at the beginning of next week.

      Hope all this made sense!

  2. bethfinke Says:

    Oh, Sandra, this is so disappointing. I’d like to mention your experience in my own blog if that’s okay with you, think it’s important for people to understand that this sort of discrimination is still going on.
    You are such an intelligent and mature young woman, too bad the ESL students wil no longer benefit from your talents. I’ll say this, though: those students you’ll be working with at the Middle school are very lucky kids!

    • Sandra Says:

      I’m frustrated with the whole situation, but I’m even more disappointed because these people didn’t approach me directly to tell me their concerns. Please share this experience with your readers. Like you said, people need to know this discrimination still exists.

  3. bethfinke Says:

    PS: I experienced somewhat similar discrimination a while back. After training to do hospice work, the organization refused to assign me a patient. I contacted ADA officials and learned ADA deals with job discrimination but not with discriminating against volunteers. At least that was the case back then, I know there have been some changes to ADA legislation lately, maybe it’s different now?

  4. What are these wonderful women doing now? « Safe & Sound blog Says:

    […] continue volunteering, but now she’ll mentor Latino students at Urbana Middle School instead. Link to Sandra’s blog to follow her progress – interesting […]

  5. marilee Says:

    Sandra- I was so disappointed to hear of your experience. I am disappointed, frustrated, and a bit angry with the way that you were treated by someone in the education system. As a teacher,I am always looking for educated, safe, involved volunteers to help our kids. Especially our ELL students. I wish you were in Florida- I would have a full time volunteer position- of course that would take you away from your classes and job. The middle school students are fortunate to have you help them converse, read and write. Keep us posted on how this all works out!

  6. Krista Says:

    It was interesting reading this – I found your blog just by googling. I teach adult ESL, and I have a volunteer who is visually impaired – not completely blind. He’s been volunteering two years now. I’m definitely not an expert at adapting activities for him, but it’s been working out great, and he tells me what works and what doesn’t. He does mostly conversation with them, but other activities, too. Since you’re interested in ESL, and we definitely always need help in our field, I hope you have luck in another program. Maybe try adult ESL? : )

    • Sandra Says:

      Hello Krista,

      Thanks for reading and commenting to my post. It’s amazing how many people have come across my blog just by doing searches on the Internet.

      Glad everything is working well with your volunteer. I’m glad you two are working things out — it’s good he’s been volunteering for two years; I only lasted two weeks! 🙂 Unfortunately, the teacher I worked with failed to do just that: ask me what worked and what didn’t. I do understand that sometimes people are hesitant to ask people with disabilities about what they can or cannot do. However I personally prefer that people ask instead of making assumptions. I won’t volunteer as an ESL tutor for this particular project, but if the opportunity comes up again I’ll definitely give it another shot!

  7. Fall 2010 Memorable Issues and Experiences « Sandra The Future Journalist Says:

    […] might recall my frustrating experience as an ESL volunteer. After quitting that job I wanted to be a mentor for Hispanic students at a middle school in Urbana […]

Leave a comment